that actually returns the creature is a delayed triggered ability that waits until the beginning of the next end step. No change from previously. Mimic Vat - (G) (SF) (txt)[[cardname]] or [[cardname|SET]] to call. won't block a Grave Betrayal Do I get to move it to the command zone or is it lost forever? Each time you stuff a newly dead creature into the Mimic Vat . Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts. Mimic Vat vs Grave Betrayal Asked by drhumbra 7 years ago. So how does [[Mimic Vat]] work with the new commander rules? No token is created in this case. statement? If the commander dies while Mimic Vat is out, the Vat will trigger and attempt to imprint it. You put the triggered abilities on the stack in any order, so you’ll determine in which order they resolve. Multiple non-active players put their triggers on the stack in turn order so in the above scenario Player B would get the first chance. , I'm certain you are mistaken. I'll take the example as if it was Player A's turn. It they choose to have it stay in the graveyard, the Vat's imprint ability can find it and exile it. Sorry for the thread necro, but It's less than a month old and I had a question based on this. That is no longer a trick anyone needs, because the new rules let death triggers happen before going to the command zone. Angelique. Are you sure about the Leyline of the Void Magic the Gathering, FNM is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved. Here is the question: since Mimic Vat can only exile 1 card, but I get a trigger for every creature before I imprint, I choose to imprint and replace every creature (putting the replaced creature into the graveyard), stacking the triggers so that the last creature I imprint remains on the vat. on the upside, everyone (multiplayer) dealt direct damage to the player once he did this, so he was out the game before he could attack with his army. , the Betrayal trigger will lose track of it. However, since exiling those cards is optional, and choosing to exile a card this way causes the previously exiled cards to … The Sun Titan and the Mimic Vats are replaced because Rest in Peace shuts them down. A "zone-change" ability ("dies" triggers are probably the most common example) tracks an object to the first zone it moves to, even if that first zone isn't the expected one (that is, Leyline of the Void Last edited by CarstenHaese: Jan 2, 2011 (): #8 Jan 2, 2011. If a commander dies, and the owner of the mimic vat tries to exile it, then you choose for it to go into the command zone from exile, Mimic Vat will have successfully exiled the commander, and so any previous cards exiled with it go to the graveyard. This site is unaffiliated. Am I right in thinking Imprint checks whether a card is currently in exile from the Vat - not whether the action of exiling that card has happened? This came up the other night during a game. But to feel really stupid when you die, well, that would be insufferable." my opponent has is playing zombies and has Grave Betrayal on the board. "10/1/2012 - While Rest in Peace is on the battlefield, abilities that trigger whenever a creature dies wont trigger because cards and tokens never reach a players graveyard.". Contact | If a replacement effect ships a creature off to a zone other than the graveyard, then any "dies" triggers don't even trigger in the first place. . Do the creatures that were imprinted then returned to the graveyard trigger Grave Betrayal? This site works best with JavaScript enabled. Card Text: Imprint — Whenever a nontoken creature dies, you may exile that card. The commander doesn’t change zones, so nothing happens to it. Mana Cost: Converted Mana Cost: 3. He wants to imprint it. Fairly sure that after it goes to exile with the vat you can as a state based action decide to put it into the command zone. This would prevent Undying, Grave Betrayal Though I suppose it does matter in a purely technical sense who has priority here, it doesn't affect the end result of the situation, since the part of Grave Betrayal This site © 2020 TappedOut.net, LLC Please enable JavaScript to get the best experience from this site. Since the imprint trigger goes on "dies" and then the card passed through the vat and back to the graveyeard, does Grave Betrayal lose a target when I imprint? However, that ability will lose track of the object if it changes zones again. Terms of Use | -Nafai, The Ships of Earth, thx, that clears the argue between me and my friend, Out of curiosity, if there's also a Player C in the game who also controls a. Articles and comments are user-submitted and do not represent official endorsements of this site. 's ability! In particular, Mimic Vat used to be a way to get a death trigger out of a commander while still having it go to your command zone: it dies, you let it go to the graveyard, then you accept Mimic Vat's imprint, but you send it to the command zone instead of going to exile. If the commander dies while Mimic Vat is out, the Vat will trigger and attempt to imprint it. Player A's creature dies. If the Vat is destroyed, there is nothing stating that the last card exiled by it changes zones, so the commander would stay in exile, most likely forever. DMCA requests | It they choose to have it stay in the graveyard, the Vat's imprint ability can find it and exile it. You can’t create a token that’s a copy of a nonpermanent card. Mimic Vat. , and other 'dies' effects, such as Blood Artist Mimic Vat rulings: 2011-01-01: If multiple nontoken creatures are put into their owners’ graveyards from the battlefield at the same time, the imprint ability will trigger that many times. Do you know where there might be a written official ruling on this, or which mtg comprehensive rule explains this? 7/13/2018: If the creature that dies is an instant or sorcery card that’s been manifested, Mimic Vat may have a nonpermanent card exiled. I have a Mimic Vat in play. The most unusual way to negate Grave Betrayal Immediately after it's been exiled, its owner has another chance to decide to move it to the command zone. After reading the ruling on Rest in Peace As Mimic Vat’s second ability resolves, its controller chooses one of those cards to make a token copy of. he wipes the board (multiplayer) with black sun zenith. - the creatures will get returned from exile). So, it does seem that Mimic Vat has changed for commander, just not the way you're describing. :). If they don't, it stays in exile, imprinted by the Vat, until the Vat imprints another card (at which point it puts back the commander in its owner's graveyard, who gets another chance to move to command zone). This seems the most reasonable scenario for me. Angelique. ... "10/1/2012 - While Rest in Peace is on the battlefield, abilities that trigger whenever a creature dies wont trigger because cards and tokens never reach a players graveyard." This came up the other night during a game. If it was in exile from the vat and you didn't put it in the command zone for some reason, like maybe it was your own vat, then it would be stuck in exile if it got destroyed. Before that trigger resolves, the owner of that commander gets to decide whether to let it stay in the graveyard after dying or move it to command zone. . Before that trigger resolves, the owner of that commander gets to decide whether to let it stay in the graveyard after dying or move it to command zone. If you do, return each other card exiled with Mimic Vat to its owner's graveyard., : Create a token that's a copy of a card exiled with Mimic Vat. The new thing that you can do, that you couldn't do before, is blank out a Mimic Vat with a commander. Feeds | If this is true, then if someone tries to destroy your mimic vat, you may get another creature enter the graveyard, and then imprint that new creature in the vat, free your commander from the Vat and then when it hits the graveyard and decide to return it to your command zone. "To face death, that's nothing much. Ads by Fandom. Hard to explain, but I hope you understand my question. Yes, when triggers controlled by multiple players trigger at the same time they are placed on the stack in Active Player - Nonactive Player Order.